Technology Webinars

audio

Key signaling pathways in cancer:
Links to developmental biology

Thursday, June 2, 2016
1:00 pm ET
10:00 am
Pacific
11:00 am
Mountain
12:00 pm
Central
1:00 pm
Eastern
5:00 pm
GMT
05:19:14 Days Hrs Mins June 02 2016 13:00:00 EDT

It is notable that the same pathways governing the cell growth, death, and differentiation decisions made during embryonic development are also common drivers of adult malignancy. In this webinar, we will explore the idea that a better understanding of developmental biology signaling pathways will advance our understanding of adult tumors and cancer stem cells as well as boost our ability to create effective therapeutics to fight a broad array of cancers.

During the webinar, our speakers will:

  • Discuss the mechanisms and control of antiproliferation signaling from cytokines such as transforming growth factor beta (TGF-β) and their role in cancer progression
  • Explain the role of the Hedgehog signaling pathway in embryonic development and how it is deregulated in certain skin cancers and in pancreatic cancer
  • Elucidate how the microenvironment impacts the behavior of tissue stem cells and how this crosstalk goes awry in cancer
  • Answer your questions live during the broadcast!

The webinar will last approximately 60 minutes.

Featured Speakers
  • Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D.

    HHMI/Rockefeller University
    New York, NY

  • Benjamin L. Allen, Ph.D.

    University of Michigan
    Ann Arbor, MI

  • Rik Derynck, Ph.D.

    University of California San Francisco
    San Francisco, CA

Moderator
Sean Sanders, Ph.D.

Science/AAAS
Washington, DC

Sponsored By
audio

Analysis of extracellular vesicles including exosomes by imaging flow cytometry

Wednesday, June 8, 2016
12:00 pm ET
9:00 am
Pacific
10:00 am
Mountain
11:00 am
Central
12:00 pm
Eastern
4:00 pm
GMT
11:18:14 Days Hrs Mins June 08 2016 12:00:00 EDT

Extracellular vesicles (EVs) such as exosomes (70 nm – 160 nm in diameter) and microvesicles (100 nm – 1,000 nm diameter) can be harvested from cell-culture supernatants and from all bodily fluids. Current standard techniques to visualize, quantify, and characterize EVs are electron microscopy, nanoparticle tracking analyses, and dynamic light scattering. To further characterize and discriminate EVs, more exact high-throughput technologies to analyze their surface are highly desired. Although conventional flow cytometry is limited to measuring particles down to approximately 300 nm – 500 nm, a relatively new flow-cytometric method—called “imaging flow cytometry”—allows for the analysis of EVs smaller than 300 nm. This webinar will introduce viewers to the challenges, limitations, and pitfalls of flow cytometry-based EV analysis, and to the imaging flow cytometry methodology. Also covered will be techniques for analyzing exosomes, microvesicles, and apoptotic bodies in unprocessed samples, how imaging flow cytometry can be used to evaluate or reevaluate EV isolation techniques, and the advantages and disadvantages of using this method.

During the webinar, viewers will learn about:

  • Using an eGFP-positive biological calibrator to optimize imaging flow cytometry acquisition and analysis parameters
  • The importance of appropriate controls when using fluorescent dyes and antibodies
  • The value that imaging flow cytometry brings to multiparametric EV surface analysis.

Questions from the live, online audience will be answered during the webinar.

The webinar will last approximately 60 minutes.

Featured Speakers
  • André Görgens, Ph.D.

    University Hospital Essen
    Essen, Germany

Moderator
Sean Sanders, Ph.D.

Science/AAAS
Washington, DC

Sponsored By